The predecessor of Shanghai

The predecessor of Shanghai Jiao Tong University School of Medicine is Shanghai Second Medical University, which is merged by St. John’s University School of Medicine (1896-1952), Aurora University School of Medicine (1911-1952), and Tongde Medical College (1918-1952) in 1952 when the faculties of higher education institutions across the country were adjusted. On July 18, 2005, Shanghai Jiao Tong University merged with Shanghai Second Medical University to establish the new Shanghai Jiao Tong University School of Medicine, which was supported by both the Ministry of Education and the Shanghai Municipal Government.