College of Stomatology


ZHU Yaqin



  • Dr. Yaqin Zhu, the Director of Department of General Dentistry, Shanghai Ninth People’s Hospital Shanghai Jiao Tong University School of Medicine; Director of General Dentistry & Dental Emergency,College of Stomatology Shanghai Jiao Tong University. She is also the Chairman of Chinese Society of Stomatological Emergency, the Vice-Chairman of Chinese Society of General Dentistry, the member of the Chinese Oral Medicine Education Society, fellow of the International College of Dentists, member of the editorial board of Shanghai Journal of Stomatology, Journal of Oral Materials and Instruments, International Journal of Stomatology, and Chinese Journal of Practical Stomatology. From 2005 to 2006, she was a visiting scholar at Faculty of Dentistry, University of Michigan. She has been engaged in clinical practice, teaching and research in dentistry areas for more than 30 years. She is good at the comprehensive diagnosis and treatment of dental diseases, cosmetic restoration, endodontic therapy & post-endo restoration, and comprehensive diagnosis and treatment of adult tooth trauma. She is responsible for the courses of“Oral Emergency Medicine” for students of College of Stomatology Shanghai Jiao Tong University , the course of “Stomatology”for students of School of Medicine Shanghai Jiao Tong University, and the Oral Health part of the Unit II course of Ottawa-- Shanghai Joint School of Medicine. Her research interests include oral microbiome and systemic diseases (e.g., hypertension, neurodegenerative changes, etc.), regeneration and repair of stem cells and dentin and periodontal tissue. She has published more than 130 papers, including 34 SCI papers, 18 monographs, and 24 scientific research projects such as the National Natural Science Foundation of China and the Basic Key Projects of Shanghai Municipal Science and Technology Commission. As a major participant, she won the second prize of Shanghai Science and Technology Progress Award, the third prize of the State Education Commission's Scientific and Technological Achievement Promotion Award.