Faculty of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery

Founded in 1950s, the Faculty of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery is a national key clinical specialty. Under the successive leadership of Professor Zhang Xize, Qiu Weiliu and Zhang Zhiyuan, it has gradually developed and expanded. The Faculty of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery was founded, including three sub-disciplines: Oromaxillofacial Head and Neck Oncology, Oral and Craniomaxillofacial Surgery and Oral surgery.

The faculty has 3 international training bases and centers: Oral and Maxillofacial Tumor Surgery and Reconstruction Training Center endorsed by the International Association of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons (IAOMS) (the first in China), AOCMF Reference Center-Asia Pacific and the Sino-German Dental Training Center (Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery Division), Head and Neck Oncologic Surgery Fellowship Program of the Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh (the world's first outside the United Kingdom).

At present, there are 314 faculty and staff members, including two academician of the Chinese Academy of Engineering- Qiu Weiliu and Zhang Zhiyuan, 36 professors and 34 associate professors.

Oromaxillofacial head and neck oncology, one of the three sub-disciplines, is committed to surgery, radiotherapy, chemotherapy, laser, cryotherapy, thermotherapy, bio-molecular targeting therapy, basic research and clinical treatment of oral tumors, and has created oral and maxillofacial oncology with Chinese characteristics. It has become the world's largest oral cancer treatment center. Functional reconstruction after oral cancer surgery were awarded the China National Science and Technology Progress Award.

Oral and craniomaxillofacial surgery has been committed to the research and development of the application of digital technology. The research areas are primarily as follows: digital guide/navigation surgery, personalized traction osteogenesis, surgical robot and augmented reality technology.

The research areas of oral surgery are primarily as follows: temporomandibular joint diseases, maxillofacial nerve diseases, maxillofacial infections, salivary gland non-tumor diseases and alveolar problems. Technology innovation of temporomandibular joint surgery was awarded National Science and Technology Progress Award.

Contact Us

Dean of Faculty: Zhang Chenping

Tel: +86-21- 53315338

Email: omfs_9h@126.com

Associate Dean of of Faculty: Chen Wantao, Wang Xudong, He Yue, Chen Minjie

Faculty of Dentistry

The College of Stomatology Shanghai Jiao Tong University, formerly the Dentistry of Aurora University School of Medicine, was founded in 1932. With the efforts of Professor Xu Guoqi, Professor Wu Aiju, Professor Liu Zheng, Professor Xue Miao, Professor Huang Zongren and other famous experts of the older generation, multiple subspecialties have been established. The Faculty of Dentistry, College of Stomatology Shanghai Jiao Tong University was established in November 2008, including 10 teaching departments, among which there are 6 teaching groups under the Teaching Department of Basic Oral Medicine, and Professor Shen Gang was Dean of Faculty of Dentistry. In 2015, Professor Jiang Xinquan served as Dean of Faculty of Dentistry, and teaching groups under the Teaching Department of Basic Oral Medicine increased to 7.

At present, the Faculty of Dentistry has developed to the first-class discipline scale and level of medical, teaching, and research in China, and the training base of senior dental clinical talents. The departments of prosthodontics, endodontics, periodontology, orthodontics and oral medicine are the national key clinical specialties. Oral medicine of Integrated Traditional Chinese and Western Medicine is a key discipline of the State Administration of Traditional Chinese Medicine.

The faculty has 475 staff members, including 283 dentists and full-time scientific researchers. There are 27 doctoral supervisors, 30 master supervisors, with a potential talent team and talent reserve. There are 2 winners of National Natural Science Fund for Distinguished Youth, 2 winner of National Natural Science Fund for Outstanding Youth. The staff members of faculty also include Professor Maurizio S. Tonetti, a top international dental expert, and head of the Innovation research group of the National Natural Science Foundation of China. The faculty owns more than ten provincial and ministerial-level talents.

In recent years, taking the strategy of rejuvenating the country through science and education as an opportunity, the faculty has made great achievements in teaching, scientific research and social services by rationally arranging disciplines according to the national needs and the development trends of the frontier disciplines. In the past three years, it has undertaken 56 national scientific research projects, including 1 National Natural Science Foundation Innovation Research Group, 1 National Natural Science Foundation Outstanding Youth Science Project, 2 National Natural Science Foundation key projects, and 1 international cooperation project. More than 288 scientific research papers had published in SCI indexed journals. It has been awarded more than 10 science and technology awards by national, provincial, ministerial and industry associations, including the second prize of Natural Science Award of Scientific Research Outstanding Achievement Award of the Ministry of Education and the first prize of Shanghai Science and Technology Progress. It has established 1 Shanghai engineering technology research center and 2 Shanghai professional technical service platforms, and has won "excellent" in previous evaluations.

On the basis of maintaining the original discipline advantages, the Faculty of Dentistry will further optimize the discipline structure, refine the discipline development framework direction, further optimize the advantages of sub-disciplines, integrate the resources of dental clinical disciplines, and greatly improve the overall discipline level. The development potential of the discipline should be continuously enhanced, the ability of independent innovation should be improved, and the basis and mechanism for the sustainable development of the discipline should be formed. It focuses on demand-oriented, strengthen the coordination of medical and education, strengthen the training of dental talents, and create a team of high-quality discipline talents with both integrity and ability and reasonable structure.

Contact Us

Dean of Faculty: JIANG Xinquan

Tel: +86-21-53315688

Email: xinquanjiang@aliyun.com

Associate Dean of Faculty: Fang Bin, Lai Hongchang, Zhu Yaqin, Wang Jun, Huang Zhengwei, Song Zhongchen