3scholarsfromSJTU School of Medicine were selected for the "Chang Jiang Scholars Program" in 2016

On March 31, the Ministry of Education of PRC released the nominee list of“Chang Jiang Scholars Program” in 2016, in which candidates nominated by their universities would be selected by the committee after strict procedures including the review, meeting reply, public announcements, and employment contract sign, and finally Bi Yufang from SJTU School of Medicine affiliated Ruijin Hospital, Bu Jun fromSJTU School of Medicine affliated Renji Hospital were elected as distinguished professors, Cao Yana from Ruijin Hospital was named Young Scholar.

“Chang Jiang Scholars Program”, initiated in August 1998, was a special high-level personnel plan jointly sponsored by China‘s Ministry of Education (MOE) and Li Ka Shing Foundation with the aim to improve the academic status of colleges and universities and torevitalize higher education in China, and the chosen distinguished professorswill receive as high concern as the winners of the National Science Fund for Distinguished Young Scholars. Since a considerable number of recently elected academicians of the Chinese Academy of Sciences and Chinese Academy of Engineering haveonce been the Distinguished Professors for “Chang Jiang Scholars Program”, Distinguished Professorsare thought to be the cradle for academicians, while the Young Scholars were set up in 2015.

According to this list, a total of 440 scholars are included in the “Chang Jiang Scholars Program” in 2016, including a total of 49 people from Shanghai (16 distinguished professors,16 young scholars) , 12 of whom are from Shanghai Jiao Tong University, (4 distinguished professor,8 young scholars), ranking fifth throughout the country. Remakabley, SJTU School of Medicine has performed well in the medical group, who has the highest number of nominees in the medical field, ranking first with Peking University.

Up to now, there are 19 distinguished professors, eight professors and three young scholars for the “Chang Jiang Scholars Program”.

Introductions of the winners:

Bi Yufang, Ph.D., a chief physician, a doctoral tutor, a leading talent in Shanghai, the chief physician from the Endocrine and Metabolic Disease Department in Shanghai Jiao Tong University School of Medicine affiliated Ruijin Hospital, deputy director of the Shanghai Institute of Endocrine Metabolic Disease, has always committed to clinical diagnosis of metabolic diseases and treatment and research of control and prevention of their risk factors, and is responsible forthe key projects promoted by the Ministry of Science and Technology, the National Science Fund for Distinguished Young Scholars, the Natural Science Foundation of China, etc.

BuJun, Ph.D., a chief physician, a doctoral tutor, a winner of the National Science Fund for Distinguished Young Scholars, the Distinguished Scholar for the Chang Jiang Scholars Program, a youth commissionerin the Chinese Society of Cardiology, the vice chairman in the Professional Committee of Intraluminal Vascular Drug of the Chinese medical doctor association, both the deputy chairman of the Youth Committee and a member of Shanghai Academy of Cardiovascular Diseases, a training instructor of coronary intervention in the Ministry of Health, is mainly engaged in coronary interventional surgeries and medication treatment, whose study results are included in textbooks of Cardiology and the guide of acute myocardial infarction.

Cao ya’nan, Ph.D., a researcher, a doctoral tutor, focuses on the clinical and basic research of endocrine neoplasms and type 2 diabetes, whose results have been published in Science, Nature Communications (X2), J Hepatology and so on, with 6 domestic patents, 1 PCT international patent, and 3 authorized patents. In 2014, one of his article was selected as one of the 100 most influential international academic papers in China. Besides, he is a winner of he National Science Fund for Distinguished Young Scholars, and was awarded the first prize of Shanghai Medical Science and Technology Awardby the second author in 2016.