faculties and departments

SJTUSM has 21 sub-colleges and departments,offering multi-level educational programs, including the 8-year program of clinical medicine, the 7-year program of oral medicine, and 5 undergraduate programs. SJTUSM is one of the first medical schools to be authorized by the Degree Commission of the State Council to enroll graduate students for the doctor’s and the master’s degrees and also one of the first to offer 8-year programs on the trial basis. Currently, it has 4 post-doctoral working stations. SJTUSM is authorized to award the doctor’s degree in 8 Level I disciplines . SJTUSM features the 8-year program of clinical medicine jointly run by the Chinese and the French. Besides, since 2001, approved by the Shanghai Municipal Education Commission, SJTUSM has selected from prestigious comprehensive universities excellent graduating students qualified for entering a graduate program free of entrance examinations to be placed in a special program combining the work for both the master’s and the doctor’s degrees, a new trial in the training of high-level medical personnel with comprehensive abilities.

SJTUSM is known for its strict and rigorous management, having all along paid special attention to research on teaching. It is the one of the first medical schools to establish a research office for medical education; in 1998, it initiated the Educational Center for Clinical Medicine under the National Research Society of Higher Medical Education. In 2009, in the new round of evaluating degree and graduating programs by the Ministry of Education, SJTUSM's clinical medicine was rated first in the nation, and the comprehensive level of disciplines ranked in the first echelon of domestic medical schools.